WhatsApp turns on unsend feature to let you delete embarrassing messages

hatsApp users will have a new way to hastily unsend embarrassing messages, with a new update set to add the ability to delete sent messages for the first time.

The new feature will offer users to option to "delete messages for everyone" in a chat within seven minutes of the initial message being sent. Both users will require the latest version of WhatsApp on iOS or Android for the delete message function to work.
Rumours about a function called "Delete for everyone" have been swirling all years.
But it's been claimed that this game-changing feature will be rolled out to all users in the next update.
The website WABetaInfo, which is dedicated to uncovering upcoming WhatsApp functions, said a new version of the app for both iOS and Android will be rolled out today.
It wrote: "WhatsApp is finally rolling out for iOS, Android, Windows Phone users the possibility to recall messages, allowing you to definitely delete messages in chats and groups if the recipients have the latest WhatsApp version installed.

How to unsend WhatsApp messages

  1. Make sure you have the latest version of WhatsApp for iOS or Android, you can find this in the App Store or Google Play Store
  2. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat with the message you want to delete within seven minutes of sending
  3. Tap and hold the message. You can also tap multiple messages to delete more than one
  4. Tap the Delete icon at the top of the screen > tap Delete for Everyone
  5. Everyone on your chat will see the message: "This message was deleted". So you may still have some explaining to do

"This feature is now called Delete for Everyone."
WhatsApp has also published a guide on how to "delete messages for everyone" on its website.
It wrote: "Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.
"Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with 'This message was deleted' in your recipients' chats. Similarly, if you see 'this message was deleted' in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.
Mute
Current Time0:09
/
Duration Time0:12
Loaded: 0%
Progress: 0%
 
Respond to a specific WhatsApp message in an individual or group chat
"You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone."
To delete messages once they have been sent, just tap and hold the message, tap delete and then press delete for everyone.

TALK AND STALK WhatsApp unveils new ‘reveal my location feature’ which could prove VERY embarrassing


However, to do this successfully both the person who sent a message and the person receiving it must be using the latest version of WhatsApp.
"Recipients may see your message before it's deleted or if deletion was not successful," WhatsApp warned.
"You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful."
The recall feature works for any type of message including text, images and videos.
However, people can still take a screenshot of your shameful messages, so we'd still advise being cautious before hitting the send button.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Drink up Scientists find health benefits in 3 cups of joe a day

42 Stomach-Churning Facts About The World’s Weirdest Foods

30 Times Product Packaging Was So Wrong, People Couldn’t Stay Silent